Upgrade the A140 Image

This forum includes general topics related to managing Cilutions products.

Upgrade the A140 Image

Postby Henry.G » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:38 am

I have A140 STBs with the standard default image from the factory. How do I upgrade these to run the Cilutions image?
Henry.G
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Upgrade the A140 Image

Postby Cilutions Support » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:49 am

To flash an image upgrade into an A140 you need:

    The image file from Cilutions. Named something like: mc2_140_2012_01_04.mcfs
    A utility to instruct the box to upgrade. Named: STBremoteconf (ask support@cilutions.com how to acquire this). Note that the installable image and the STBremoteconf utility are supplied to enterprise customers through special arrangement. All other customers can upgrade STBs over the Internet using a Cilutions supplied upgrade program (also available through support@cilutions.com)
    A Web Server on your internal network. For example, IIS on Windows (but any web server will suffice).
    If IIS make sure the mcfs MIME type is configured as application/octet-stream. Also make sure that Directory Security on IIS permits anonymous access so an http connecting user requires no authentication.

An A140 Image Upgrade Example Scenario:

    Start with a Windows machine (e.g., IP: 192.168.1.9) with IIS installed and the .mcfs file extension configured as MIME application/octet-stream
    The A140 (IP: 192.168.1.131 in this example) should respond with OK
    The TV attached to the A140 should display Upgrading, do not unplug
    Eventually (may take a few minutes) the TV attached to the A140 should briefly display Successful Upgrade, then the A140 should reboot on its own
    When the A140 comes up browse to the config pages on http://192.168.1.131 (for this example) and check the version in the General Settings. The version corresponds to the date in the upgrade image file name. So this example would show a version of: January 4, 2012.
    If things are not working first make sure you can browse to the A140 upgrade file by trying to open it from a browser using another machine on your network. Just browse to: http://192.168.1.9/Amino/mc2_140_2012_01_04.mcfs. It should not prompt you to login and should initiate the file download to the local machine (as long as IIS authentication rules and MIME types are set correctly - mentioned above).
Cilutions Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:03 pm

Re: Upgrade the A140 Image

Postby Henry.G » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:07 pm

What if I don't know the IP address of my A140? I want to upgrade it but I don't know how to access it.
Henry.G
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:54 pm

Re: Upgrade the A140 Image

Postby Cilutions Support » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:15 pm

One thing you can do is run a "MAC Scanner" to try to decipher the A140's IP Address. The MAC Address should be labelled on the outside of the A140. A MAC Scanner, like http://www.colasoft.com/mac_scanner, is useful for associating the MAC address with the IP address. This may work if your A140 is on the local subnet (e.g., 192.168.1.X).

Another approach is to use an Amino wireless keyboard to review and set the network configuration. The Alt-M key launches the management pages. The default Amino password for these pages is: leaves and the default Amino password to change values is: snake

The Amino A140 boxes from the factory sometime have the following network configuration:
DHCP: Disabled
IP Address: 200.16.0.2
Netmask: 255.255.0.0
Gateway: 200.16.0.1

If you configure a PC on the same subnet you may be able to access the A140 at 200.16.0.2.

Lastly, for enterprise customers, you can acquire the A140 image and place it on a FAT32 USB drive, in the root directory. And use this method to flash an image onto the A140 by pressing the reset button on the back of the A140 during boot-up.
Cilutions Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:03 pm

Re: Upgrade the A140 Image

Postby Cilutions Support » Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:48 pm

Another way to upgrade is to telnet or ssh into the STB and, from a command line run this:

Code: Select all
sh -c "if (preupgrade.sh http://192.168.1.109/Amino/mc2_140.mcfs);then
postupgrade.sh;else reboot;fi;"


Of course, the URL http://192.168.1.109/Amino/mc2_140.mcfs in this example should be replaced with the actual image location.

Also, search the support forums for finstall to see how one might post an upgrade command to apply to, say, a bunch of STBs as they retrieve their content from a common FTP server. But be careful to get this all right. Upgrading is a serious operation.
Cilutions Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:03 pm


Return to Remote Management General Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron